March 18, 2014

Review: The Quilted Heart

Book Title: The Quilted Heart
Author: Mona Hodgson
Publisher: WaterBrook Press
Pub Date: January 21, 2014
Genres: Historical Fiction, Fiction, Civil War, Series
Series: Quilted Hearts
Declaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Press. I did it for an honesty review. They have not told me what to write or what way to do it.

Description: Like a beautiful patchwork quilt, the three novellas in The Quilted Heart tell stories of lives stitched together with love and God’s unending grace.

Once a week, Elsa Brantenberg hosts the Saint Charles Quilting Circle at her farmhouse on the outskirts of the riverside town of St. Charles, Missouri. The ladies who gather there have all experienced heartache related to the intense hardships of the Civil War, and together, they are facing their painful circumstances with friendship and prayer. Can the tattered pieces of their hearts be stitched together by God’s grace?

Dandelions on the Wind
When Maren Jensen took a job on Elsa Brantenberg’s St. Charles, Missouri farm, she never expected to call the place her home. As she grows to love Mrs. Brantenberg and her granddaughter, Gabi, Maren is transformed from a lonely mail-order bride-without-a-groom to a beloved member of the Brantenberg household. But when Gabi’s father, Rutherford “Wooly” Wainwright, returns to the farm unexpectedly, everything changes for Maren, and she feels compelled to find another job. Are her choices in obedience to God, or is she running from His plan?

Bending Toward the Sun
Dedicated to her education and to helping her father in his general store, Emilie Heinrich is convinced she doesn't have time for love. But when a childhood friend returns to St. Charles, Missouri, after serving in the Civil War, his smile and charm captures Emilie’s eye and her heart. Will she be forced to choose between honoring her father and a future with a husband and family of her own?

Ripples Along the Shore
Change is brewing in St. Charles. A group of brave souls are preparing to head west on the Boone's Lick Wagon Train, led by the mysterious and handsome Garrett Cowlishaw, who served as a Confederate soldier in the war that killed Caroline’s husband. Despite her dislike for him, Caroline is tempted to join the wagon train and start fresh somewhere new, but when Mr. Cowlishaw forbids her—a single woman—to travel with them, will one man’s prejudice destroy Caroline’s hope for a new future? Or will the ripples of God’s love bring the answer she needs?

Thoughts: I just loves series. I have already review the first book to this series. I really like learning about Civil War era. I do not know what bring it out or if it the writing. I just enjoy the story behind it. You can learn so much. Why it just a wonderful thing to see the bonds of friendship and what all can bring people together. The stories are all different but it all great to read. To me it just makes me wonder and these stories also take me back in that time era. What life might have been if I was born in that era.

Site Reviews:


March 4, 2014

Review: For Every Season

Book Title: For Every Season
Author: Cindy Woodsmall
Publisher: WaterBrook Press
Pub Date: August 20, 2013
Genres: Christian Fiction, Fiction, Series, Romance, Amish, Amish Fiction
Book Resource: Received it from Waterbook for a free honesty Review
Series: Amish Vines and Orchards #3
Synopsis: Working hard to develop a new Amish community outside of Unity, Maine, Rhoda Byler is fully committed to rehabilitating an orchard with business partner Samuel King. But an impulsive decision has created an unexpected strain in her relationship with her beau, Samuel’s brother, Jacob, threatening plans for the orchard. Amidst mounting tension in matters of the heart and business, Rhoda finds that this fledging settlement feels like the home she has always longed for, and she begins to embrace the God-given, heightened intuition that has always felt like a burden to her. She longs for Jacob to fully be free of his past, so they can work towards the future together.

But as Rhoda uses her gift to unpack an old secret with her Englisch neighbors, it is not her beau but an unlikely ally that cheers her on. With the orchard on shaky ground and Jacob’s plans in question, Rhoda is determined to see things through to harvest. But can she trust her insight to direct her path in matters of the heart?

Reviews: Goodreads/ Shelfari/ LibraryThing/ Barnes & Noble/

My Thoughts:
This the best series I have read. Though I have read other series. I love this book because it is just different and I love that it is catching and keeps me to be surprised. I like getting to know each person in the book and in detail. It also keeps me wanting more and making me wait for the next book for more.

The author is great in this. You learn new secret and new storylines that are dealt with. We find out if Jacob can free himself of his past along with Ronda. Ronda learn that her gift from god and what do with it or at least some of it. Will Ronda and Jacob be together in future. You will need to read it to find out for yourselves.

Do they learn what kind of relationships they each want. Samuel, Jacob and Ronda all need to figure it all out. I wonder where each one will go and who will choose who or what path they decide to take. If you have not read this series. I would recommend it that you do. The series starts with the book "A Season for Tending".

My Rating:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...